About Us

Surrey Historic Buildings Trust helps to conserve the built heritage of the county of Surrey, including buildings of particular historical interest or beauty. The Trust was formed in 1980 when a former High Sheriff of Surrey, Philip Henman, pledged the sum of £25,000 for heritage conservation in the county, which the County Council then matched.

The Trust is advised by the County Historic Buildings Officer. We are supported by a group of Friends and by architects and conservationists who assist with the Trust’s work. In recent years much of our work has been around the award of grants to help restore and conserve buildings in the county, especially those in the ‘at risk’ category, as well as promoting knowledge and understanding of Surrey’s historic buildings and good practice in their conservation, for example through the Surrey Heritage Awards.

By becoming a Friend of SHBT you can support our work to preserve these important places so that they can be enjoyed by future generations. We are a voluntary organisation working with building owners, local authorities and the community. We are financed largely by Friends’ subscriptions and donations.

SHBT is a member of the Heritage Trust Network, which represents historic building preservation trusts throughout the country, all of whom are dealing with challenges of buildings that are severely at risk. We also support major heritage organisations including the Society for the Preservation of Ancient Buildings (SPAB), Historic England and the National Trust, and campaign bodies such as SAVE Britain’s Heritage and the Victorian Society.

Surrey Historic Buildings Trust is governed by a Board of Trustees. The current (2021-22) Trustees are: Angela Fraser DL (Chair); Amanda Lewis (Vice-Chair), David Davis DL; Hazel Morris; Christine Manly; Jennifer Powell, Nick Skellett CBE; Sarah Sullivan; Julie Summers; Michael Sydney. The Secretary to the Board of Trustees is Andy Smith, and the Trust’s Conservation Adviser is the County Historic Buildings Officer, Chris Reynolds.