Surrey Heritage Awards 2022

Surrey Historic Buildings Trust has announced the shortlist for the Surrey Heritage Awards 2022. Six projects have been shortlisted for this year’s awards, which celebrate Surrey’s architectural heritage by highlighting the best recent conservation and restoration projects.

A judging panel led by Dr Seán O’Reilly, Director of the Institute of Historic Building Conservation, is currently assessing the shortlisted projects. The winners will be revealed at a ceremony to be held at Brooklands Museum in Weybridge on March 30.

These are the buildings where restoration and repair work has been carried out recently and which are on the short list for the 2022 Surrey Heritage Awards:

Old Well Cottage, Peaslake

This is a distinctive timber-framed 14th century hall house, with original wattle and daub panels, where repairs have been carried out using traditional materials and experienced local craftspeople. Where timber had decayed it was replaced with new oak to exactly the same dimensions. Some of the repairs were carried out using hazel cut from the cottage garden and local woodland.

Mansion House Farm, Crowhurst

A medieval hall house dating from the 15th century, this is a good example of the Surrey vernacular style, with oak beams and hanging tiles. Extensive restoration work to preserve the building has included cleaning the building’s original oak beams to return them to their natural state and repairing structural timbers to ensure that the maximum amount of historic fabric is retained.

Naggs Stable, Loseley Park, Guildford

Built in 16th century and enlarged in the 18th, this is an L-shaped timber-framed outbuilding on the Loseley Park estate that was previously used as the estate’s granary and storehouse. Needing substantial repair and restoration, it has been sensitively converted into an office to secure its long term survival.

Colquhoun Chapel, Brookwood Cemetery

This Gothic-style chapel, made entirely from Bath stone, was built in the mid-19th century as the family mausoleum for the Colquhoun family. Located in a remote corner of the cemetery it had become hidden in rhododendron bushes, so extensive scrub clearance work outdoors was needed, as well as cleaning and repairing internal and external masonry.

St Mark’s Church, Upper Hale

A late-Victorian church, St Mark’s is noted for its stunning wall murals painted by local artist Kitty Milroy, a graduate of the Slade School of Fine Art. These murals had deteriorated and faded after a century’s accumulation of dirt, so the local community rallied round to raise the funds for a major project to clean, repair and restore the murals.

The Horton, Epsom

Newly restored as a community space and arts centre, this was originally the chapel of Horton Hospital. Built in 1901, it is one of only a few surviving original buildings in Epsom’s ‘Hospitals Cluster’, much of which has been redeveloped for housing. Under threat, it has been saved by a local community group who set out to rescue the building and preserve its unique architecture.

Surrey Heritage Awards 2019

Surrey Historic Buildings Trust has announced the overall winner of the Surrey Heritage Awards 2019: Parklands Farm Granary, Ockley.

Parklands Farm Granary is a Grade II listed late seventeenth or early eighteenth-century granary, located over a cart shed. Much of the granary’s original fabric had been retained, including its corn bins, and its modest scale and relationship with the cart shed makes it an unusual piece of surviving Surrey vernacular architecture.

The granary was in a particularly poor condition following years of neglect. The main structural posts in the building had moved, resulting in one corner subsiding and pulling the butt rafters out of the purlin. The roof was also in a poor condition causing significant rot throughout the structure.

The work carried out included stripping the roof and jacking the building up to re-engage the rafter-to-purlin joints and allow the leaning timbers to be set near upright. The tiles were reinstated and the internal plasterwork repaired with traditional lath and plaster to the affected areas. The ground floor of the building was part enclosed by walls made from traditional plank bark-edge offcuts.

In their comments, the judging panel noted that “the granary was on the point of collapse when the owners bought the property. Although it had minimal economic value, the owners appreciated it for its historic character, and the contribution it makes to the setting of the listed farmhouse. The contractor was able to stabilise the granary without dismantling it and has done an excellent job of carrying out sympathetic repairs using traditional materials and techniques.”

The other five shortlisted nominations were:
  • Lythe Hill Hotel, Chiddingfold
  • Manor Cottage, Shere
  • Oatlands Park Gates, Weybridge
  • Sunt Farmhouse, Oxted,
  • Yew Tree Cottage, Wrecclesham
These properties date from between the 15th and 18th centuries and represent some of the most interesting historic buildings in Surrey and ‘Best Practice’ in building conservation.
The winner and runners-up were announced at the Surrey Heritage Awards Ceremony at West Horsley Place on Wednesday 27th March 2019.
Click on the links below for details of each of the shortlisted entries:
 Unfortunately due to the Covid-19 pandemic there were no Awards in 2020-21.